Krol, Bongiorno & Given, Ltd.
Home
Attorneys
Your Rights
Why Our Firm
Recent Succes
Contact Us
SUITE 1150
120 NORTH LASALLE STREET
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60602


(312) 726-5567
FAX (312) 726-1586



Frequently Asked Questions

1. Is there a time limit for reporting a work accident?
Yes, you should immediately report any accident to your supervisor. (Notice to a co-worker is not notice to your employer.) Under Illinois law, you are required to report your accident within 45 days. In addition, you should seek medical attention and be sure to give a complete history of the accident.

2. When must I file a claim?
Generally, a workers' compensation claim must be filed within 3 years of the date of your accident. Failure to file a claim within the appropriate time period may result in you losing your rights to any benefits.

3. What is the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission?
The Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission is the administrative agency set up to handle workers' compensation cases. The Commission is governed by the Illinois Workers' Compensation Act.

4. Can I be fired for filing a claim?
No. Illinois law prohibits employers from firing employees who bring workers' compensation claims.

5. How are we paid?
Our fees are based on a contingency arrangement and are set by Illinois law. We are not paid unless you recover.


Copyright © 2006 Krol, Bongiorno & Given, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
website design & development: Eurograf Designhosting: myszka.com